James Beard Eat Your Heart Out: Forays into Food Writing with Edible Sacramento

by juli boggs

Good news! A couple of articles I was working on over Christmas have finally come out in the Spring issue of Edible Sacramento magazine and they look great. I worked with an awesome photographer Debbie Cunningham and received helpful feedback from the editors at Edible, making this one of the most enjoyable publishing experiences I’ve had from beginning to end. The magazine can be picked up at Corti Brothers for a couple of bucks in Sacramento (and probably other places around the Sacramento/Napa Valley area though I don’t have a definite distribution list yet). In the MEANTIME however, you can view all the articles online in a handy flip-through edition that gives you a good feeling for how it all fits together page to page, though it can be a little cumbersome if your computer isn’t quite up to date. I’ll post some easier read-through links to the Olive Oil and Yisrael Farm pieces below along with some page shots for your complete viewing pleasure. Also, I just made up the term “page shots.”

See the flip-through edition of Edible Sacramento’s Spring issue here or read on for text-based links to the articles.

Image

The first piece I worked on was a feature about an old Italian family up in the foothills of Amador County who have had an actively-harvested olive orchard for about 100 years. Recently my family began to help with the harvest which inspired a lot of research into the world of olive oil and thus the feature was born! This was one of the longest pieces I’ve worked on and it felt great to devote so much time to researching and rewriting and reshaping- all the re’s. Magazine writing gives me the liberty to be a little more “literary” with my pieces which was a real treat compared to my usual weekly news bits for the SN&R. The photographer Debbie did a really wonderful job with all the shots for the Olive piece, and the layout looks pretty fresh too. You can read the article in full here, or scroll down to see page shots of the layout.

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

The second piece I worked on was in a section on edible gardens and local agriculture in Sacramento. My bit focused on the excellent Yisrael Family Urban Farm in Oak Park whose tagline is “changing the hood for good.” Though their space is small, they’re ultra engaged in community building and education and they’re doing great things for Sacramento urban ag and food education. I look forward to getting back out there to help whenever I’m in town! Here’s one page from that spread, but because the read-through link to the article cuts off the end (some technical issue) I’ll go ahead and post the contents of that piece in a separate post to follow.

Image

Image

 

Thanks to The Cuneo family, the Yisrael family, D. Cunningham, and the Edible team for working with me. I hope to have more pieces out for your reading enjoyment soon!