Music for Foodies

by juli boggs

pizza underground

There are only two things that I cherish in a total and untouchable way. One of those things is The Velvet Underground. The other thing is pizza. I always imagined that the closest I would ever come to combining these loves was listening to one while eating the other, until today.

The Pizza Underground.

I don’t have to explain it to you, but I will. The Velvet Underground tribute band writes parody versions all about pizza, and is lead by now cult-hero-in-my-own-mind Macaulay Culkin. No more mystery as to what he sits around and does with his Home Alone fortune.

They also actually play shows, their twitter @cheesedayz mentioning a guest appearance with anti-folk legend Jeffrey Lewis at the Comic Arts Festival after party in NYC last month.

Their 8 minute demo is available as a name your price download on their Bandcamp and includes such genuinely ingenious hits as “I’m Beginning to Eat the Slice,” “I’m Waiting for Delivery Man,” and “All the Pizza Parties.”

They also have a Tumblr that’s Loaded with original pizza underground content.

I am so hungry.