Hella Sketch

by juli boggs

A few months ago I ran across a post by graphic designer Jason Maria about the merits of keeping a sketchbook. A lot of people refuse to keep journals because they think they can’t draw, but “sketchbooks are not about being a good artist, they’re about being a good thinker” he says. He also went ahead and set up a Flickr account for people to post scans of their work, which I find both really inspiring and totally discouraging depending on my insecurities.

So it is that I’m pretty excited about this USB graphic pad I found in a box the other day. Right off the bat it enables me to create things like the above, which adds a debatable element to things. A friend and I were just talking the other day about how disconnected blogging can be from our  real creativity, but I’m predicting that this will allow me to add a more personal touch to my future posts. Just remember- I’m a thinker, not an artist. That much is obvious.